The Devil’s Gate: Book Review

Books

An Impossible Journey

Author: Deepak Kripal

Book Blurb:

Sidelined by man, animals turned to demons.

Plundered by humans of their habitats, animals take a drastic step when they decide to send a team of a cat named as Katy and a dog named as Dug, to an invisible island known, as the Island of ‘Five Hundred Graves’. The island becomes visible only for a short time on the night of the full moon. Legend has it that the island is inhabited by the demons. Katy and Dug are supposed to negotiate a deal with the demons, convincing them to allow the animals inhabit the island. Majority of the animal community believe that tinkering with the other world could bring their wrath to the animals. The team is sent to the island nevertheless. But, can a deal with the dead be materialized? Are there really demons on the island? is there any conspiracy involved? Will Katy and Dug be able to negotiate, or will survival remain their only question in the deadly island

Book Trailer:

My Review:

Being in close contact with a cat and a dog everyday, I found this book extremely entertaining, I could actually visualize Katy and Dug!

When the writing style of the author is quite refreshing and the story line is not run of the mill, you get a great book!

Though the book’s good from the beginning, I enjoyed the last few chapters, the twists that kept on coming were quite unexpected.

The story has great conversations, the sprinklings of witty one liners were the best!

I loved the character of the Dog, Dug..he was so adorable! And so much like my own Labrador Scooby.. ❤

Also, while reading, I kept hoping that this be made into a movie, it would be so great to have this story be reflected on the big screen…!

The book cover could have been better though as I feel it does not do justice to the story inside. Had I gone to a store, I might not have picked it up.

Go for it, its a fast and interesting read!

(I thank the author Deepak Kripal for sending me this book and letting me be a part of this wonderful journey)