Review: Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

Feminism

“At the temple there is a poem called “Loss” carved into the stone. It has three words, but the poet has scratched them out. You cannot read loss, only feel it.”

Memoirs of a Geisha

The writing of this book is such that while reading you get transported to a whole new world, and then each time real life calls, you need to take a few moments to set the mind to reality.

The story was quite enchanting, although I was a bit disappointed​ at the ending. I guess I had expected a bit more.

But, the whole setting, getting to know about the life of a Geisha, right down to their makeup and Kimono were extremely interesting. The customs, the tea parties and the day to day lives of Geisha were so unlike what it is usually portrayed.

The book was entertaining as well as I got to know more about the Japanese culture and I guess now I will start researching on some Japanese authors. Any suggestions?

Overall this book is entertaining, but should be taken as the historical fiction. I give this book 4 stars.

Buy Memoirs of a Geisha

The movie adaption of this book is beautiful. The cinematography is outstanding, truly a must watch. Here is the movie trailer:

Leave a comment